Harris Makes All-State Team


Tazewell’s Cassius Harris was chosen to the official Second-Team 2A All-State football team as a wide receiver and defensive back. He has also been named First Team All-District and First Team All-Region.


Harris leaves Tazewell High School as one of the most prolific wide receivers in VHSL history. He is the Tazewell school record holder in receptions in a game, receptions in a season, receptions in a career, receiving yards in a season, receiving yards in a career, receiving touchdowns in a game, receiving touchdowns in a season, and receiving touchdowns in a career. He is the only player in school history to record a 200-yard rushing game and a 200-yard receiving game during his career. He is the VHSL record holder for receptions in a game with 20 and receptions in a season with 104. He is second on the VHSL’s All-Time Receptions List with 216. He is 7th on the VHSL’s All-Time Receiving Yards List with 2,970 yards.


The All-State selection committee is comprised of eight football coaches (2 from each region).


Here is a list of Tazewell Bulldogs who have previously been named to the Virginia All-State Team:


1958 – Jerry Johnson, Guard, First Team


1962 – Don Barnes, RB, First Team


1968 – Jack Crabtree, LB, Third Team


1969 – John Rainey, RB, First Team


1981 – Rick Noel, P, First Team


1982 – Steve Dean, OT & DT, First Team


1983 – Mark Billips, G, First Team


1983 – Mike Billips, DT, First Team


1983 – Steve Mitchem, DB, First Team


1984 – Mike Billips, DT, First Team


1985 – Larry Peery, OT, First Team


1986 – Jessie Davis, QB, First Team


1986 – Jeff Lamie, DB, First Team


1986 – Donnie Mitchem, DE, First Team


1986 – Stephan Holloway, DL, First Team


1987 – Stephan Holloway, DL, First Team


1988 – Rob Colley, PK, First Team


1988 – Rob Colley, P, First Team


1989 – Rob Colley, P, Second Team


1990 – John Griffith, TE, First Team


1999 – Stuart Angles, Honorable Mention


1999 – Drew Barrett, DB, Second Team


2000 – Stuart Angles, DB, Second Team


2000 – Stuart Angles, P, Honorable Mention


2005 – Eric McDaniel, Honorable Mention


2006 – Gavin Angle, Guard, Second Team


2006 – Shannon Graham, Honorable Mention


2008 – Matt Muncy, Offensive All-Purpose, First Team


2008 – Jonathan Corner, Honorable Mention


2010 – Shaquille McDonald, Honorable Mention


2012 – Guye Turner, Honorable Mention


2012 – Mickey Wright, Honorable Mention


2020 – Josiah Jordan, DB, First Team


2020 – Josh Herndon, OL, Second Team


2021 – Cassius Harris, WR, Second Team


2022 – Cassius Harris, WR, Second Team


2022 – Cassius Harris, DB, Second Team


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *