Harris Makes All-State Team

Photo by Laura Kincer

Tazewell’s Cassius Harris was chosen to the official Second-Team 2A All-State football team. He has also been named First Team All-District, First Team All-Region, and was named to the All-Bluefield Daily Telegraph football team. This season he tied the VHSL single-game receptions record (20) and set the VHSL single-season receptions record (104).


The three receivers named to the 2A First Team All-State football team were Graham’s Xayvion Bradshaw, Glenvar’s Dagan Williams, and Central Woodstock’s Caleb Daugherty. Bradshaw recently committed to Virginia Tech. In Glenvar’s 11-2 season, Williams had 64 receptions for 968 yards and 16 touchdowns. Williams currently holds offers from Myrtle Beach Collegiate Post Academy, Methodist University, Bridgewater College, and Shenandoah University. During the Central Woodstock Falcons’ 11-2 season, Daugherty caught 46 passes for 851 yards and 10 touchdowns.

Joining Cassius at wide receiver on the All-State Second Team are Brandon Beavers from Ridgeview and Jackson Swanson from Glenvar.

Cassius led Class 2A with 1,423 receiving yards and 104 receptions. His yardage total, catches and his 11 receiving touchdowns are all Tazewell High School single-season records. He also tied the single-game school record with three TDs against Marion. He was named the New People’s Bank Player of the Week twice. For his career, Harris has compiled 2,002 receiving yards, 16 receiving touchdowns, and 145 receptions.

The All-State selection committee is comprised of eight football coaches (2 from each region).

Here is a list of Tazewell Bulldogs who have previously been named to the Virginia All-State Team:

1958 – Jerry Johnson, Guard, First Team

1962 – Don Barnes, RB, First Team

1968 – Jack Crabtree, LB, Third Team

1969 – John Rainey, RB, First Team

1981 – Rick Noel, P, First Team

1982 – Steve Dean, OT & DT, First Team

1983 – Mark Billips, G, First Team

1983 – Mike Billips, DT, First Team

1983 – Steve Mitchem, DB, First Team

1984 – Mike Billips, DT, First Team

1985 – Larry Peery, OT, First Team

1986 – Jessie Davis, QB, First Team

1986 – Jeff Lamie, DB, First Team

1986 – Donnie Mitchem, DE, First Team

1986 – Stephan Holloway, DL, First Team

1987 – Stephan Holloway, DL, First Team

1988 – Rob Colley, PK, First Team

1988 – Rob Colley, P, First Team

1989 – Rob Colley, P, Second Team

1990 – John Griffith, TE, First Team

1999 – Stuart Angles, Honorable Mention

1999 – Drew Barrett, DB, Second Team

2000 – Stuart Angles, DB, Second Team

2000 – Stuart Angles, P, Honorable Mention

2005 – Eric McDaniel, Honorable Mention

2006 – Gavin Angle, Guard, Second Team

2006 – Shannon Graham, Honorable Mention

2008 – Matt Muncy, Offensive All-Purpose, First Team

2008 – Jonathan Corner, Honorable Mention

2010 – Shaquille McDonald, Honorable Mention

2012 – Guye Turner, Honorable Mention

2012 – Mickey Wright, Honorable Mention

2020 – Josiah Jordan, DB, First Team

2020 – Josh Herndon, OL, Second Team

2021 – Cassius Harris, WR, Second Team




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *